06 wrx brake change questions(4)
+ Reply to Thread

This is a discussion on 06 wrx brake change questions(4) within the General Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Accidents. forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; my 06 wrx has stock front brake pads on it. i am changing them to hawk hps and my question ...

06 wrx brake change questions(4)

my 06 wrx has stock front brake pads on it. i am changing them to hawk hps and my question is do i need to replace the shims and pin retainer springs as well, new ones did not come with the pads?

what brake fluid upgrade is compatable with stock fluid when changing brake fluid?

when resurfacing youe rotors what is the min thickness before replacement and i heard after cutting the rotor you re-cut the rotor in reverse("reverse swirll") to gain better pad seating?

any help would be great.. im a noob appreciate everything
    Last edited by gareeyn1chols; 09-26-2008 at 12:52 AM.

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

Quote Originally Posted by gareeyn1chols View Post
    my 06 wrx has stock front brake pads on it. i am changing them to hawk hps and my question is do i need to replace the shims and pin retainer springs as well, new ones did not come with the pads?
    Stock shims & springs will do fine.

what brake fluid upgrade is compatable with stock fluid when changing brake fluid?
    Any Dot3 really

when resurfacing youe rotors what is the min thickness before replacement and i heard after cutting the rotor you re-cut the rotor in reverse("reverse swirll") to gain better pad seating?
    Good question
    How Fast Can You Afford To Go?

I stand corrected but think the rotor min is 23mm. My local subaru dealer skimmed my bugsti disks and yes they did it in reverse...
    **__The Hawk-Eye Alliance__**
    Member #0135

I Support ClubWRX