Punch gas to floor, revs up to around 4 rpm then drops to lower rpm...

This is a discussion on Punch gas to floor, revs up to around 4 rpm then drops to lower rpm... within the General Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Accidents. forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; Hey all, I'm new to posting on the forums and have searched around and haven't found anything that sounds like ...

Punch gas to floor, revs up to around 4 rpm then drops to lower rpm...

Hey all, I'm new to posting on the forums and have searched around and haven't found anything that sounds like my issue. Basically when I step on it, the car goes up to around 4k rpm, then shutters a little and goes back down to about 2.5k rpm and continues to increase in speed. If you have heard of this or may know what is going on I would appreciate any advice or ideas. Thanks.

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

Quote Originally Posted by niterider View Post
    Hey all, I'm new to posting on the forums and have searched around and haven't found anything that sounds like my issue. Basically when I step on it, the car goes up to around 4k rpm, then shutters a little and goes back down to about 2.5k rpm and continues to increase in speed. If you have heard of this or may know what is going on I would appreciate any advice or ideas. Thanks.
    sounds like ur clutch is slippn bad. time for a new, how many miles are on the clutch.
    Last edited by justin.jordan2; 07-05-2008 at 06:10 PM.
    COBB FLASHED STAGE 2, UPPIPE, DOWNPIPE WITH HIGH FLOW CAT, AND FULL 3 INCH CAT BACK, 160 CRUCIAL RACING THERMOSTAT, K&N FILTER. TRACK: 1/4 MILE 13.66 102.7 MPH ON THE COBB OTS MAP

original clutch, i have 77k on the car. recently had the center differential replaced as well as some work on my 1st and 2nd gears. looks like i may be taking it back into the shop.