*HELP*URGENT!!! check engine light*HELP*
+ Reply to Thread

This is a discussion on *HELP*URGENT!!! check engine light*HELP* within the General Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Accidents. forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; whats up fellas! newbie here! wondering if you guys can help me out... i just bought a used 02 "bug ...

Question *HELP*URGENT!!! check engine light*HELP*

whats up fellas!

newbie here! wondering if you guys can help me out...

i just bought a used 02 "bug eye" wrx, the hks sqv bov was not making the whistling sound i love to hear as much anymore. i do remember the salesman saying that it has a leak. anyways, as i was driving home today & the check engine light came on!!! once i saw it, i immediately got pissed!!! luckily, i have a obII code reader and found the suby codes for it too...this is what popped up: P0420 catalyst system efficiency below threshold

what i want to know is...what the hell does that mean? is it something i can fix myself or should i take it in to get checked???

thanx!

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

get a stock bpv and put it back on then see if it comes back on
    Army Ranger For Life ! Thin Blue Line
    Military Militia # 1911/ Blobeye Syndicate # 1911/ Modifier's Anonymous # 1911/ Hawk-Eye Alliance # 1911
    All We'll Drive
    DIFFERENT STROKES
    EVEN MY DENTIST TOLD ME FLOSS 7 DAYS A WEEK
    POST WH0RE KING

did you or anyone you know have this problem too?

Exclamation the solution...

so i googled the trouble code and found some guy in a forum that post this up:

- Manual
    -9600 miles
    -P0420 Catalyst efficiancy fault
    - occured while cruising on highway, part throttle, Sunday night. <<[which is exactly what happend to me!]

-- took to dealer Monday, they cleared and sent me on my way, said "its a computer glitch and there is no fix, I cleared it, it probably won't come back."

so now thats outta the way, i just have to get my BOV check out.