I changed my plugs and now my car runs like crap... What happened?
+ Reply to Thread

This is a discussion on I changed my plugs and now my car runs like crap... What happened? within the General Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Accidents. forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; So I'm a newbie, and I did my first spark plug swap on an 03 Wrx. I reviewed the tutorial ...

Red face I changed my plugs and now my car runs like crap... What happened?

So I'm a newbie, and I did my first spark plug swap on an 03 Wrx. I reviewed the tutorial that was posted on this site... (Very Helpful by the way) After I put everything back together and fired it up for the first time, it sounds like I'm only running on 2 cylinders. My first thought is that I put the coil packs back in the wrong place and the engine is miss firing as a result. Is this even possible? If so How do I know which coil pack is in the wrong place. I'm nervouse to drive it somewhere to have it checked. Aslo, I gapped my Autolite Double Platinum plugs to .028. Could that be causing any problem?

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

are the wires on the right plugs? check your firing order. i had a firebird that i switch up two plugs on accident and it would idle fine but it wouldnt drive fine and it would start back firing.

What kind of plugs did you use, the manual says .028-.031. I just did mine today and put them at .030 and its running great. You did thread them in by hand first right? I dont think you can put the coil packs in wrong cause on my 04 they are fixed to the engine where the 2 wires for each side meet up. Besides you wouldnt be able to screw them in cause they have to be in a certain way. But if they are not fixed in place, I would recomend doing them one at a time. Take pack off, then plug, put new plug in. Make sure its gapped, then put the pack back on. Do the next one.

wer