Oil leak & rough idle problem

This is a discussion on Oil leak & rough idle problem within the General Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Accidents. forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; Hey guys, been a while since posting on here but I'm not an expert on the EJ205 and was hoping ...

Question Oil leak & rough idle problem

Hey guys, been a while since posting on here but I'm not an expert on the EJ205 and was hoping to get some leads on a current problem.

Right now, all of a sudden after 50k flawless miles on my 03 WRX I'm experiencing some problems. There's a bit of white smoke coming from my tail pipe but only just after the engine warms and only at idle. After a bit of driving there's no more smoke at idle. During the same time, just after the engine warms, I also experience rough idle.

When getting under the car I noticed the right axle, subframe, and my H-brace covered in oil and initially thought my TD04 was going wrong. Upon further inspection the exterior of the turbo, oil inlet & outlet, are dry as a bone. The leak seems to be coming from the right rocker cover. Oil was a bit low so I topped it off.

Next obvious question that will be asked of me is modifications. Car is an 03 wagon, fully catted, STi back box, & STi TMIC as far as performance is concerned. Recent work to the car was an oil change 1400 miles ago as well as changing out a bad oil pressure sender in the GReddy sandwich adapter. The only difference with this last oil change, apart from changing out the bad sender, was that I switched from Mobil 1 Synthetic 5w30 to ENEOS 5w30.

Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements