Wierd Oil on Dipstick problem

This is a discussion on Wierd Oil on Dipstick problem within the General Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Accidents. forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; Hey guys, I got a 02 wrx w/ approx 75k on it. I am a tech for Ford so by ...

Wierd Oil on Dipstick problem

Hey guys, I got a 02 wrx w/ approx 75k on it. I am a tech for Ford so by no means I am I unfamiliar w/ many automotive problems but I am puzzled by one that has happened to me a few times now. On my subby I will check the oil, and it will be hardly on the bottom of the dipstick, one even not visable. This was enough to freak me out. Both times I added about .5 to 1 quart to the system to bring it to the L mark on the stick so I can drive it to work and check it out. When I check it after work the dipstick now is showing that .5 to 1 quart overfull..... As for the obvious questions, yes the car was perfectly level when I checked it both times, I don't see where in the system oil could be retaining. Has anyone else had this problem, or had a solution? I recently read that the oil line has a screen in it going to the turbo, although I keep a good oil change interval I wonder if somehow that line was not draining back to the pan with the engine off, don't think that possible though or my turbo would be toasty.
    2002 SRP wrx mt sedan
    AP v2.0 stg 2

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

You need to make sure that the car is in the same condition each time you check your oil, this will give you a more consistent reading. I always check mine when the engine is cold after the car has sat overnight. I do this before I start the car for the first time of the day, usually after 8 hours of being parked. This is my method. When I do this, I know that since I have an STi the oil should come up to just below the top twist of the dipstick.