turbo issue

This is a discussion on turbo issue within the General Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Accidents. forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; Alright so the car I'm purchasing is a 2003 WRX, and it's been modified, some. BOV, GReddy exhaust, turbo timer, ...

Question turbo issue

Alright so the car I'm purchasing is a 2003 WRX, and it's been modified, some. BOV, GReddy exhaust, turbo timer, boost controller. I'm new to the turbo world and already i know this thing isn't spooling right in first gear. I've driven an 04 WRX with a VF34 and all accompanying mods, and that's my only comparison to base off of. Anyway first gear feels jerky, like the car jumps a few times before it really builds that power up. Second gear up, fine. Only first. I'm hoping this is a tuning issue that can be easily dealt with, but I'm new to turbos and could really use some feedback. Thanks!

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

replace the BOV with a recirculatory valve, the BOV makes it run right and makes the car feel very jumpy! i had one on mine and went back to the stock recirc valve and it make it smooth as glass, boost control is kinda scary to, not many peps recommend it on the wrx, but i dont kno much about why

Quote Originally Posted by MisterChristie View Post
    Alright so the car I'm purchasing is a 2003 WRX, and it's been modified, some. BOV, GReddy exhaust, turbo timer, boost controller. I'm new to the turbo world and already i know this thing isn't spooling right in first gear. I've driven an 04 WRX with a VF34 and all accompanying mods, and that's my only comparison to base off of. Anyway first gear feels jerky, like the car jumps a few times before it really builds that power up. Second gear up, fine. Only first. I'm hoping this is a tuning issue that can be easily dealt with, but I'm new to turbos and could really use some feedback. Thanks!