High Mileage Wrx
+ Reply to Thread

This is a discussion on High Mileage Wrx within the General Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Accidents. forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; I am a newbie to the wrx...I just bought an 02 for a good price with 112k on it. Obviously ...

High Mileage Wrx

I am a newbie to the wrx...I just bought an 02 for a good price with 112k on it. Obviously i would like to get as much use outta of the girl as i can. Id love to mod it, but id rather have a reliable car than a fast one. I searched around on the forums for a while and answered a few of my questions....however, what is any opinions on switching to full synthetic oil on a high mileage engine? Ive heard that it is better to use old fashioned "dino oil" in high mileage cars as long as you change the oil frequently. What about oil additives like lucas products to enhance viscousity? This car runs as good as any other wrx ive driven in my life and has no obvious problems, but any other ideas on keepin her runnin like a dream for many thousands of miles to come? Thanks!

Also, im going to reframe from any mods until im satisfied that the car is in perfect operating condition (the only reasons im not already is my lack of suby experiance and the high mileage) but one thing i have done to all of the cars i have owned (muscle cars) is replaced the stock restrictive airbox with a higher flow intake, it seems cobb makes a good one, but does this have any negative health effects on the car that anyone has noticed?
    Last edited by WRXtricky; 09-30-2007 at 09:46 PM.

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

i would keep reg dino oil in there... i <3 lucas products
    the cobb short ram is a good choice imo
    welcome to the club
    Army Ranger For Life ! Thin Blue Line
    Military Militia # 1911/ Blobeye Syndicate # 1911/ Modifier's Anonymous # 1911/ Hawk-Eye Alliance # 1911
    All We'll Drive
    DIFFERENT STROKES