Thule 1600 Evolution cargo box instructions/review
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

This is a discussion on Thule 1600 Evolution cargo box instructions/review within the Exterior and Appearance forums, part of the Tutorials & DIY category; Time for me to pack up my stuff and move from Florida to Canada. When I originally moved south I ...

Smile Thule 1600 Evolution cargo box instructions/review

Time for me to pack up my stuff and move from Florida to Canada. When I originally moved south I shipped my belongings using UPS. They DESTROYED my belongings and never reimbursed me a cent (international shipments are uninsured) . This time around, I decided to load up my worldly goods (not much) into my WRX wagon. I needed extra junk room so I started looking at cargo carriers. Being a complete newbie to the world of cargo boxes and roof-mount accessories in general, I found very little information so I've put up these pictures to show how these things work. In the end I picked a Thule Evolution 1600 over boxes from Yakima or other brands. I couldn't find any online reviews of the Thule boxes, so I'm hoping this post offers information to those interested in the Thule Evolution cargo boxes (WRX and non-WRX owners alike). Review is at the bottom.

Before you get your box:
    Pretty much all cargo boxes attach to crossbars. If you have the Subaru factory crossbars they will mount fine. However, the factory bars are not the strongest bars around. They are limited to a 100 lb load (total), and the Thule 1600 cargo box is 39 lbs empty. I don't plan on putting heavy items in my box so I chose to stick with the factory crossbars, whose flat profiles result in less wind noise (but are weaker than the round bars from yakima or the square bars from thule).

If you plan on carrying heavier items, I'd recommend buying railkits and crossbars from Yakima or Thule. You don't want this thing flying off on the highway.

Installation: