HID questions and potential future sticky

This is a discussion on HID questions and potential future sticky within the Exterior & Appearance forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; Ok so I'm going to start off saying that yes, I did research this, but there are too many conflicting ...

HID questions and potential future sticky

Ok so I'm going to start off saying that yes, I did research this, but there are too many conflicting posts to wrap my head around. : Yes, I am a newb on this forum (see post count) but I was pretty well-respected on the BMW forums I was on when I had my E36.

I know that the best way to get HIDs are to retrofit projector lenses into your OEM housings. This does not look like fun and I would like to avoid it if possible but AM willing to do it. I have been told by some very knowledgeable people that since I have a blobeye I can simply put HIDs in the standard reflector housing since they are the same lights from the STi which was designed for HIDs. Their logic is that HIDs have been around long before projector lenses and the first applications had them in reflector housings. I am skeptical however since I don't want to blind other people. What I would like, and this is what I'm having trouble finding, is 4 images of the light patterns on a garage door (or similar flat surface).

Image 1: OEM Blobeye headlight pattern
    Image 2: HIDs in the OEM WRX Blobeye housing
    Image 3: HIDs in the OEM STi Blobeye housing (if different than WRX. It shouldnt be since the p/n are the same)
    Image 4: HID projectors retrofit into OEM housings

If you guys help me find these images i'll try and put together a sticky the shows exactly what you'll get with each application.

The only reason I'm asking about this is because I found a place that will sell a PnP HID kit for $50 with a lifetime warranty. Thats MUCH more appealing than dropping a grand on retrofits.
    WARNING: Has Dumb Ideas

Dab of Oppo anyone?