ClubWRX Forum - Subaru Impreza WRX and STi Community and Forums  

Go Back   ClubWRX Forum - Subaru Impreza WRX and STi Community and Forums > Community - Meet other Enthusiasts > Everyday Impreza Talk

Everyday Impreza Talk If it doesn't quite fit in any other forum, but it's related to the club in someway, discuss it here. General suggestions, questions, and comments welcome. Sponsored by Oakos Automotive

Advertise On ClubWRX
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-27-2004, 03:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 6
Dont buy this car!!! Its a fraud! (long!)

I just want to warn you guys since I just joined this site I was looking at an evo for sale...I emailed the guy and have figured out this is one huge fraud!
This car:

http://engine.usedcars.com/bin/serve...=1097460919038

I have recieved a couple letters from him saying the following:
First letter:


Good Day,

Two months ago I had to move to London ,UK with my job ,and I took the
car
with me.
Here in Europe I had an unpleasant surprise because the car is an US
model,
a left hand drive and here in United Kingdom it is not legally to be
driven.
They allow only right hand cars and I do not have what to do with this
car
now,I have tried to sell it locally but it was not succesfully.
That is why I am trying to sell the car in USA, there will be no
further
problems because the car passes US emissions standards and DOT & EPA as
long
as it has been purchased in US space.
I will need your zip code so I can estimate shipping and if you are a
serious person I will let you know further instructions to finalize the
transaction succesfully.
I am asking also seriousity from your side because I have a lot of
persons
interested on the car and I have to know each way to go.

Thank you for your time.

Willma and Tom Anderson


Second letter:

Grayson,
I am glad that you are interested in my car and I can asurre you that
it is
the perfect and the fastest car that existed,also it is in perfect
shape,has
never been involved in any accidents,has no scratches , and the engine
runs
perfectly.
The car has been inspected before sale and has updated all the 2004
international emissions and DOT standards.

It has a clear title wich you will receive it with the car.The title,
all
the paperwork needed to register the car under your name in US and also
a
notorized paper signed by the power of attorney will come,in wich if
you
accept the car you will be oblied to transfer me the established amount
in
10 days period, and if the car is not suitable for you from any
reason,your
money will be fully refoundable and I will take the car back on my
cost.

I preffer to use Lufthansa carrier for shipping because I am pleased
with
their services,I have used them to bring the car to UK, and it has
arrived
with no scratch because it was professionally crated.
The car will land on the closest airport to your address and then on
trailer
to your home and I will provide you the tracking number in the same day
that
the payment has been made,so you will inspect the shippment route
online on
their
website,beeing insurred that the car is coming to you.
The estimated time of delivery is 5 days.

I will cover the shipping fees, so the final price is $8000.
In order to eliminate any concerns I sugest a deposit of $4000,
and after you have received the car, you will send me the remaining
balance.
The deposit is required because I have to pay shipping fees and
insurrance.
The downpayment is fully refundable and if for any reason you do not
accept
the car or if the car has scratches, hidden defects, or it is not as
advertised.

To make it prompt and safe I would prefer the deposit made via Western
Union
because this is the fastest way to send money in the world (You can
make it
over the phone by calling 1-800-CALL-CASH or if you are a first time
user
then you must go in person to a Western Union agent from where you can
send
the payment on my name and address).
You have to understand that I am putting my hole trust in you also,and
I
will need your promise to be a serious person.
If interested and agree with my terms please advice asap because I have
a
lot of persons offering me a lot of money for the car but I am a person
of
word and you were interested first.
I will need your full name and address in order to procced things on.

Thank you and I hope that you will have the pleasure to drive this car
as I
did.
Willma and Tom Anderson


THIS IS A FAKE! If you want to read up some more on why this is such a fake check this out:
http://www.carbuyingtips.com/fraud.htm

Look at how much of what they say matches up with what this guy has to say! Anyway just wanted to give a warning out to you guys.

Last edited by roadracer247; 10-27-2004 at 03:34 PM..
roadracer247 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2004, 03:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 6
I made an adjustment to it. Sry guys I posted the first letter twice. Now I also have the second letter I was sent posted up...
roadracer247 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2004, 06:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 38
I would hope that the price would be enough of a red flag. $12900 for an 03 Evo in perfect condition?
ColonelSanders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2004, 07:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 35
Send a message via AIM to Supreme
Funny but I encountered the same ish with some guy who wanted to sell me a RX7 when I was looking at them on ebay. Claimed that he shipped it to greece and the guy who bought it backed out, and he was in greece getting the car back. Asked me to wire him a deposit, and he would ship from there to me. Meanwhile, the location on the auction was St. Louis or something, Im thinking ya thatll be the day....
Supreme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2004, 07:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
bluesix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Tampa Bay
Posts: 102
In all seriousity that is a great price for the fastest car that ever existed.
__________________
Love, Peace, and Grease...
-BlueSix
bluesix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2004, 07:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
bluerex47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: ohio/texas
Posts: 2,322
Send a message via AIM to bluerex47 Send a message via MSN to bluerex47
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluesix
In all seriousity that is a great price for the fastest car that ever existed.
is seriousity a word??...lol sorry, had to ask

no really, this is why i will never buy a car online without seeing it in person. there is just TOO much risk to take.
__________________
- chris
04 wrx, 04 corvette, 66 GTO
ACT installed at 36k...new Gears at 44k...
bluerex47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is there an echo in here? (long story) deucetrey Mountain States 1 01-05-2004 02:54 AM
How long did you have oil coming out of your car after taking turbo out? blackshadow Engine Modifications 7 01-21-2003 02:40 PM
God save your soul if you buy this car.... Schaf100 Everyday Impreza Talk 36 07-24-2002 05:28 PM
How long did you wait after ordering a car? KanosWRX Everyday Impreza Talk 4 04-15-2002 05:50 PM



Advertise On ClubWRX

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.1.0
Copyright 2001-2008 ClubWRX.net