Subaru WRX Forum banner

WRX or not? Maybe?

1K views 8 replies 9 participants last post by  baseapple 
#1 ·
My first post. Been thinking about a WRX. I know only I can answer these questions on if WRX is really right for me. But let me ask you "real" owners of the car. My background is all Hondas and know nothing about Subarus. Considering a 2015 model.

- I don't need AWD. No snow, no rain. I read the adverting about Symmetrical AWD. Is AWD really more fun vs. other FWD compacts? Notice the handling difference?

- How's the reliability of Subaru? Yes, every car have problems. Some are perfect. Would you consider Subaru to be Honda-Like?

- The flat 4 engine. Like the advertising said, lower center of gravity. Is that something you really feel? Are there advantages or disadvantages to this design?

- WRX may be too much power for my DD use. No plans to track or auto X the car. What do you guys think of an Impreza with wheels, suspension, bolt ons? Or is it Turbo (WRX) or none at all? An Impreza is good alternative? If you had to step down from your WRX, would you consider an Impreza?

- I read mix reviews about the new CVT. Some say the delay is still there. But given that I will DD the car, city driving, will I be disappointed? I do consider myself a manual trans guy. But also read this CVT is amazing (with the fake paddleshifts), and perfect for a guy like me for my use. I read horror stories about Nissan CVT. What do you guys know about Subaru's CVT? The same Jatco unit (like Nissan)?

Thank you.

See less See more
#2 ·
My first post. Been thinking about a WRX. I know only I can answer these questions on if WRX is really right for me. But let me ask you "real" owners of the car. My background is all Hondas and know nothing about Subarus. Considering a 2015 model.

- I don't need AWD. No snow, no rain. I read the adverting about Symmetrical AWD. Is AWD really more fun vs. other FWD compacts? Notice the handling difference?