2015 WRX concerns
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

This is a discussion on 2015 WRX concerns within the Everyday Impreza Talk forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; As this is my first experience owning a Subaru I want to make sure I am doing things right. I ...

2015 WRX concerns

As this is my first experience owning a Subaru I want to make sure I am doing things right. I picked up my 15 WRX on June 16th and have 1800 miles in it at this point. As I said before this is my first time with a Subaru and something that has a turbo so everything is new and amazing to me while I drive this thing. I have read quite a few horror stories of people ending up with a blown engine in their new 15 STI. I am well aware that the WRX uses a completely different platform but I am just curious if any one has been having any issues with their 2015 WRX. I am also wondering what kind of steps I can take to get the best experience from this awesome car that I have.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

From what I've been reading, any sort of modification aside, the worst thing you can do is load up the engine in low RPM. In other words, don't go WOT in 4th gear when you are at 2000 rpm, instead, downshift and get into the powerband.

If I am not mistaken, a good chunk of blown engines on new cars are in some way attributed to modifications without proper tuning (or poor tuning), poor maintenance and flat out abuse and bad habits. In some cases its not entirely the drivers fault, for example, a guy/girl used to a v8 with a wide powerband may get into a turbo four-banger and start mashing the pedal at low RPM because it is something they are used to. This person may be unintentionally doing damage to their engine and/or creating proper conditions to damage their engine.