Turbo problem?

This is a discussion on Turbo problem? within the Everyday Impreza Talk forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; Hello fellow subject people I'm new to Subaru. I recently bought an 03 wrx wagon with about 175000 miles on ...

Turbo problem?

Hello fellow subject people
    I'm new to Subaru. I recently bought an 03 wrx wagon with about 175000 miles on it. After driving it around I've noticed that it is only boost at about .6 mpa. Is that normal? Furthermore, any time I make a turn( either left or right) with my foot off the gas I hear a rumbling noise coming from the passenger side. Is my turbo going bad? What else should I look at?
    Thanks for the help

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

I Support ClubWRX I Support ClubWRX
    Is the car stock or modded? Is that .6mpa in 4th gear at wide open throttle? Boost is gear dependent. If it's completely stock (and always has been), then I would suspect a leak.

As far as the rumbling sound, if the car is stock ride height, with stock wheels and stock sized tires, I would guess that your fender liners are torn/hanging down, or something.

Quote Originally Posted by MainFrame View Post
    Is the car stock or modded? Is that .6mpa in 4th gear at wide open throttle? Boost is gear dependent. If it's completely stock (and always has been), then I would suspect a leak.

As far as the rumbling sound, if the car is stock ride height, with stock wheels and stock sized tires, I would guess that your fender liners are torn/hanging down, or something.
    Or its running wastegate pressure if something was removed and never put back correctly...
    The Hawk-Eye Alliance #90|The Blobeye Syndicate #0|The Stink-Eye Mob #0|N.E.R.D. Founding Member & #3
    2012 Lightning Red WRX Sedan Stock...for now Soon to be OpenSource tuned by: Mattypants @ WTF Tuning