Spun a bearing, need some guidance on engine replacement
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

This is a discussion on Spun a bearing, need some guidance on engine replacement within the Everyday Impreza Talk forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; Well unfortunately, yesterday, due to an unexpected situation my stock 04' WRX (43k mi. engine) got a spun bearing. So ...

Spun a bearing, need some guidance on engine replacement

Well unfortunately, yesterday, due to an unexpected situation my stock 04' WRX (43k mi. engine) got a spun bearing. So I've decided to go ahead an replace the shortblock, my question is how much work will it take to properly replace by old 2.0 shortblock with an 2.5 Sblock? Or should I just stick with the 2.0?

Thanks in advance guys seriously. Plus, if you guys have a better plan that you think I should go with, please do tell.

Thanks again.
    Pic to soon to come ...... 19 yrs old. Drive a Subbie( Im a newbie). 3rd Year Of college going to third.

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

Banned
    I Support ClubWRX
    Hybrid build time

While you're replacing the shortblock anyway, you might as well throw in an ej25. Just remember to use the fancy headgaskets and all that and you'll be good. This will require a tune, but that's not bad.

EDIT: btw, what oil were you using?
    My big thread: The Used WRX Buying Checklist - Please Contribute!

My current car: 2002 WRB WRX Wagon.
    Mods: GM BCS, Carberry SD rom, uppipe, AEM UEGO, Klunk Killer, F+R shifter bushings, head unit

Quote Originally Posted by poly_poly-man View Post
    While you're replacing the shortblock anyway, you might as well throw in an ej25. Just remember to use the fancy headgaskets and all that and you'll be good. This will require a tune, but that's not bad.

EDIT: btw, what oil were you using?