07' STi Motor swapped into an 04' WRX

This is a discussion on 07' STi Motor swapped into an 04' WRX within the Engine Performance forums, part of the Tutorials & DIY category; I've been searching on here for some threads about this specifically but haven't found one yet. I'm still learning a ...

06' STi Motor swapped into an 04' WRX

I've been searching on here for some threads about this specifically but haven't found one yet. I'm still learning a little on how to navigate and search forums efficiently. Here's my situation. I am about to purchase a 2004 WRX tomorrow. This 2004 WRX has an 06' STi motor in it. Is this a safe and common swap to be made with these? The idea sounds amazing but I don't want to find myself in a crappy situation with a car loaded with issues. Here is the link to the car I am buying. 2004 Subaru WRX/STI Thank you fellas! - Troy
    Last edited by tsalazarma; 11-01-2012 at 09:24 PM.

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

zax
    I Support ClubWRX I Support ClubWRX
    A car with that many miles and a swap without any details, I'd walk... nay, run far far away. Judging from the intake manifold, the "swap" is a hybrid build with a 2.5L block. It's possible that the heads are also borrowed from an 06 STi, but dealing with the AVCS is a PITA. This car is exceptionally overpriced. I'd look elsewhere.
    2015 CWP WRX STi ... But how did I get roped back into an EJ motor?!
    Zax's utterly unimaginably stock 2015 STi build thread
    Zax's Shaggin' Wagon Build Thread Now tuned for 99% pure Unicorn Jizz!

Zach | Moderator -- Mid-Atlantic States, Tech & Modifying & General Repairs
    Rollin' with the Bugeye Mafia #302 | N.E.R.D. Subject Zero
    Facebook me here

Your Mid-A local board: http://www.clubwrx.net/forums/mid-atlantic-states/