WRX Boost Control Basics

This is a discussion on WRX Boost Control Basics within the Engine Modifications forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; Newbie guide to wrx boost control, written by a newbie . Below is just what I've learned, and as always ...

WRX Boost Control Basics

Newbie guide to wrx boost control, written by a newbie. Below is just what I've learned, and as always I'm no expert....

^diagram of boost control system. I didn't make the diagram though and it's a bit incorrect. Replace the words intake manifold with turbo inlet pipe and electric solenoid with boost control solenoid.

In an effort to completely explain how boost is controlled, certain things must be understood first. In this section, we will try to explain how boost is produced, concerns about boost pressure, and how to control it.

Everything starts with the turbo and the normal combustion of the engine. We depress the throttle pedal, air and fuel go into the engine and get sparked. This creates exhaust gasses and what not. The exhaust gasses flow through the exhaust side of the turbo and spin the exhaust turbine. Since the exhaust turbine is connected to the intake compressor wheel, the compressor wheel on the intake side pushes more air into the engine. When combined with more fuel and sparked, more exhaust gasses are made and so on. Depending on how much exhaust gasses there are and how hot they are at a given load (gear/weather what not), they can make the turbo spin at a certain rate. This means that at any given point, you can only get a certain amount of boost with a certain setup in a given gear at a given rpm on a certain day in a certain place.