"The BIG BOV thread" (Where all bov question threads get merged) - Page 696

This is a discussion on "The BIG BOV thread" (Where all bov question threads get merged) within the Engine Modifications forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; yes perfect way to put it , and yes im a noob =/ but we learn something new everyday Originally ...

yes perfect way to put it , and yes im a noob =/ but we learn something new everyday

Quote Originally Posted by Rogan View Post
    that's not even close to what it means, or how to do it..

1. loosen the nut
    2. adjust the screw (in = TIGHT, out = LOOSE).. to further expand on that, the tighter the tension is set, the more pressure it takes to open the BPV.
    3. once adjusted to where it needs to be, tighten the nut to keep the screw from moving during time/vibration.

Note: a BOV set too loose, or 'soft', can actually sit 'open' during high-vacuum situations, such as idling, or light-throttle cruising.

Summary: the screw/adjuster does not make a BPV or BOV louder or more quiet, it makes the piston/diaphragm easier/harder to open.

The volume is determined by how much "boost pressure" is being expelled/rerouted, as well as the actual design if the BPV/BOV. 5psi will be a lot softer sounding than, say, 20psi.
    Think of yourself exhaling.. normal breathing is very quiet, because a minimal amount of 'pressure/volume (as in mass, not audible)' is being expelled. After a sprint, your breathing is much louder, because you are now expelling a greater volume/pressure of air.

understand, now?

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

I Support ClubWRX
    that's not even close to what it means, or how to do it..

1. loosen the nut
    2. adjust the screw (in = TIGHT, out = LOOSE).. to further expand on that, the tighter the tension is set, the more pressure it takes to open the BPV.