"The BIG BOV thread" (Where all bov question threads get merged) - Page 297

This is a discussion on "The BIG BOV thread" (Where all bov question threads get merged) within the Engine Modifications forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; Going from fully atmo to fully recirc you can feel a difference in lag after shift. I wish I could ...

Going from fully atmo to fully recirc you can feel a difference in lag after shift. I wish I could quantify it for you but I can't. My buddy couldn't tell the difference from one to the other, but I could. I felt the difference, however miniscule it was.
    I'm new to WRX's but definitely not new to turbo charging. the reason that there is slightly more lag with ATMO is because the turbo has to work to get the air through the intake all over again.

Now, if you take the air that the turbo just compressed, shoot it out of the BOV right into the intake plumbing BETWEEN the air filter and the turbo, then you just forced the air to go two directions - one is out through the intake, and the other is right back into the turbo - causing positive pressure in the intake piping. The air going back into the turbo allows it to spool much easier due to the intake pressure caused by the BOV. If it is vented to ATMO then there is no pressure in the intake piping, but there is in fact a vacuum - and the turbo must work harder in a vacuum to get boost.

hope thats clear.
    Last edited by StarquestAndyR; 11-09-2004 at 07:12 AM. Reason: to make my point clearer
    2002 Black WRX wagon
    1997 GMC Suburban. TURBO Diesel, 4x4 Runs on WVO

Your post count does not equal your intelligence. I don't care how many times you replied with "tacos rule"

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

Quote Originally Posted by dark_rex
    wrapping/ coating (like jethot2000) might help that.

either way, that's not a good thing!