Subaru WRX Forum banner

2017 WRX

3K views 26 replies 7 participants last post by  MainFrame 
#1 ·
I just bought a 2017 WRX and I am not able to find much info on what I can do to the motor for more power.. Is it worth just getting an STI? Or can the new motor for the WRX take a beating? Please bare with me I am new to owning a WRX, as well as subaru, but I just want to know if It's worth beefing this thing up or just trade in next year for the 2018 STI. I'm wanting to make serious power so please tell me what you guys think/suggest. Thanks!

#2 ·
1. What is "serious power" in your opinion?
2. What is the primary purpose of the vehicle?
3. Why do you need more power?
4. Will the car see track time and is the rulebook important?
5. Have you ever driven a high-powered AWD car before?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G890A using Tapatalk

#22 ·
1. What is "serious power" in your opinion?
2. What is the primary purpose of the vehicle?
3. Why do you need more power?
4. Will the car see track time and is the rulebook important?
5. Have you ever driven a high-powered AWD car before?
1. I'm not really sure. What is considered high power for an AWD? I was thinking like 500WHP
2. I drive it everyday
3. I doubt it for now. I'm just now getting into this side of driving. I was wanting to drag race before all of this but I wanted to try something different.
4. No, nothing like this. Maybe a 4x4 truck but that's it.
Sorry I missed one...

I want it because I love going fast... that's really all there is to it. Maybe try to learn to rally cross with it? Just because I can.

What is considered "high power" for an AWD vehicle will vary from person to person. Some may feel that over 350whp is high power, while someone else might only consider >1000whp to be high power. There are some AWD cars making over 2000whp now days. 500whp won't be enough to even be a camera car at TX2K.. hell, you'll probably need more than 1200whp to even make it onto the dyno board at TX2K17.