Subaru WRX Forum banner

stock 02. turbo replacement

1K views 12 replies 4 participants last post by  Montrexx 
#1 ·
Hey so I bought my first car, a 2002 WRX Impreza a week ago, 100% stock, and I love it. Also please note Im new to this and a little (alot) uneducated so I sorry if I sound dumb. Learning is a process. Anyway, Its got 170k and im looking at replacing/ upgrading the turbo. Im a HS student and just looking for an affordable option that will still give good power. I was looking at the vf48 which i believe comes stock in STis. Would this give a significant boost in hp? Also would I need any other parts/ supporting mods to run this? Im very lost on what turbo is right for me and my car. i dont want to have to put in a bunch of other (expensive) parts and get a pro tune and all that. Thats for later down the road. I saw some kits on ebay but ive heard kits arent always the way to go. so for now, What turbo is right for me???????

#2 ·
Don't take this as an insult, but if you're in high school, unless the car is in need of a new turbo, just leave it stock.

If you swap to any turbo other than stock, you're going to need a protune. Do not ever buy performance car parts from ebay. You get what you pay for, and you will regret it.

I will iterate again, that stock is 100% your best option at this point.

#3 ·
To run any turbo other than the stock one, you will need the turbo ($1000-$2300), a catless uppipe ($220), aftermarket turboback exhaust ($1200), fuel injectors ($450), fuel pump ($100), and a custom tune ($500) MINIMUM. Although I would also recommend a 3-port EBCS ($120) and an upgraded intercooler ($1000).. so you're looking at roughly $5000, assuming you do all the work yourself. I would add on about another grand for labor if you're not experienced with working on cars and/or don't own your own tools.

At that point you will likely need a new clutch and flywheel as well, so add in another $1200 for that..