Subaru WRX Forum banner

ETS 2015 Subaru WRX Air Intake Kit

36K views 30 replies 14 participants last post by  Cisco Kidd 
#1 ·
Thinking about purchasing the ETS 2015 Subaru WRX Air Intake Kit. Is anyone familiar with this kit or have it installed? I'm not interested in having to perform a "tune" but I would like a little more power and dress things up a bit. ETS claims that it is safe to run without a tune. What do you guys think. I'm fairly new to mods and really don't want to mess things up. I would just like some suggestions on whether or not the purchase would be worth it.

ETS 2015 Subaru WRX Air Intake Kit

#2 ·
I'd pass on the intake and read / learn a lot more of what works and what does not.

Forced induction engines do not respond the same way intake-wise that ambient atmospheric pressure engines do.

Keep reading and welcome to the Club! :wave:

#3 ·
No, something seems off between "not requiring a tune", "only changes afr by .4 (don't specify which way)", and then contradict themselves with their picture linked, which the afr actually start going lean by as much of at least .5. So I don't believe anything claimed

Plus what squatch said

Welcome! Great forum, you'll learn a lot.

#4 · (Edited)
Because of the way the engine piping is laid out on that engine there really isn't a true 'cold-air' intake being made. They all just throw a short ram into an otherwise warm engine bay. There really isn't a huge plus to throwing something like this on the car. Also, I find it odd that they didn't include intake air temp in any of their data. Also, there is at least one thread on NASIOC related to this and despite being asked numerous times for dyno proof ETS still hasn't posted one up. I'm not saying it's particularly unsafe but without a tune it's taking a gamble and you may actually lose some power. There are better ways to spend $300.

#6 ·