2014 Impreza WRX motor type?
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

This is a discussion on 2014 Impreza WRX motor type? within the Engine Modifications forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; Just got my first Subi about a month ago. LOVE the **** out of it. But I do not know ...

2014 Impreza WRX motor type?

Just got my first Subi about a month ago. LOVE the **** out of it. But I do not know much about the engine. Anybody know what kind of motor is in a 2014 Impreza WRX? I know it is a turboed 2.5L four cylinder, but isn't there a specific name for it like EJ20 or something? Im a rookie in the car scene if you cannot tell. And if I wanted to sell this current motor, (looking at swapping for an LS motor) how much would it go for? Has about 13xxx on it.

Also, thoughts on swapping for an LS motor of some sort?

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

I Support ClubWRX
    It's an EJ255. I'm not sure what it would sell for. If you don't mind my asking, whats your reasoning for doing an LS swap on a car that has a perfectly good motor in it?
    2011 WRB WRX Sedan - Q300, Invidia Catted Downpipe, Cobb RAM Intake w/Box, Tuned buy Turn in Concepts
    Stink-Eye Mob #696
    Build Thread
    Facebook
    @billym14

I Support ClubWRX
    That LS1 motor should mount right up, yo. Don't worry about the steering system or transmission up that way ;-)

In all fairness, that is a difficult swap to say the least. If you have to ask about the engine in there currently on an internet forum, you should probably just go buy an old camaro.
    Quote Originally Posted by Trainrex
    He was throwing balloons filled with sulfuric acid and shrapnel at the swat team. They finally had to take him down with rubber bullets.
    2011 STi Build Log
    -Part 1 - Reading, Data Logging, and Analyzing Data
    -Part 2 - Turbocharger 101 & Basic Boost Control
    -Part 3 - EcuFlash, Experimental Defintions, and a Drive By Wire Intro