2004 WRX Oil in Intercooler?
+ Reply to Thread

This is a discussion on 2004 WRX Oil in Intercooler? within the Engine Modifications forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; Hi all, I just picked up a sweet 2004 WRX wagon: It has 195,000 on it but runs strong and ...

Hi all, I just picked up a sweet 2004 WRX wagon:

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_20141031_172152.jpg 
Views:	48 
Size:	102.8 KB 
ID:	173322

It has 195,000 on it but runs strong and feels solid. I could tell before I bought it that it's been taken care of pretty well. Boost peaks at ~ 13 psi if my Cobb AP is to be trusted. The interior looks almost brand new and the body is in decent shape as well.

Only issue that I am sort of concerned about is the PO told me she burns about a half quart of oil between changes. I'm no Subie expert by any means, but just looking around the engine bay, I've noticed a decent amount of oil residue/grit build-up around the edges of the intercooler outlet hose. I have also read that Subies have a tendency put oil through the intake by way of the PCV. It's my understanding that the horizontally-opposed arrangement naturally lends itself to more oil mist being vented from the heads.

That all being said, I wonder if my disappearing oil could potentially be leaking, for lack of a better word, into the intake through the crankcase venting.

I think this may be the motivation behind air-oil separators and "catch-cans." I plan on testing this theory on my own WRX, with an inspection of the intake system both before and after an AOS installation. I plan on removing all of the intake piping (intercooler included) for examination and cleaning, then reinstalling with an AOS in place. I don't think I'll go 200,000 miles before the after-installation inspection, but a couple thousand miles should be enough to see a general trend.