Performance issues with K&N Typhoon intake
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

This is a discussion on Performance issues with K&N Typhoon intake within the Engine Modifications forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; Have a 13 Wrx with 10k on it. Today i installed a K&N air intake on it and something isnt ...

Angry Performance issues with K&N Typhoon intake

Have a 13 Wrx with 10k on it. Today i installed a K&N air intake on it and something isnt right. Off the line i dont notice any better response and power wise i would say its the same if not less than it had with the stock intake. Now aside from that when u get into it around half throttle or more at just over 4k just as its starting to push some power it goes flat. It hesitates. Best way to describe it would be like if you were to hit the rev limiter. Then after that quick skip or whatever it is, you can feel the boost kick back in. Now b4 i get responses about checking the fittings I'm a mechanic so i understand the basic trouble shooting and i have gone back through my work. Any ideas? I put some easy miles on it to see if the comp would adjust for the added air and its still running like sh*t.

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

I Support ClubWRX
    Take it off. Intakes need to be tuned for. Unless you are getting pro-tuned, there are no off the shelf maps for K&N typhoons.

Quote Originally Posted by 11blackSTi View Post
    Take it off. Intakes need to be tuned for. Unless you are getting pro-tuned, there are no off the shelf maps for K&N typhoons.

I understand that when you change something like air flow it should be tuned. Some cars respond different than others to mods like this but ive seen 5 K&N kits installed on 09 and up wrx's without tunes and rode in the cars after. none of them had issues like this. I feel like there is another reason other then the tune

Quote Originally Posted by 11blackSTi View Post