EJ20 rebuild time! Btw, I'm a noob.

This is a discussion on EJ20 rebuild time! Btw, I'm a noob. within the Engine Modifications forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; 2002 Subaru WRX Okay so I got a thrown rod about a little over a month ago. I was saving ...

EJ20 rebuild time! Btw, I'm a noob.

2002 Subaru WRX

Okay so I got a thrown rod about a little over a month ago. I was saving for a ej25 and more parts for an sti conversion but realistically speaking it would take me a while to save up that much. Yes, I understand rebuilding isn't cheap but that's fine. I minus well do something with the engine.

What my questions for y'all are:
    is there like a kit I can buy complete with ej20 parts or do I have to buy them separately?
    Also should I buy oem parts or go aftermarket?
    When I do finally rebuild the engine is there anything else I should upgrade?
    And lastly without taking my engine out is there any way to really tell what size the rod bearing are?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk 2

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

Registered User wreckingball man's Avatar
    Are you machining the shortblock or starting with a new/used one?
    what are your power plans for this rebuilt motor?

zax
    I Support ClubWRX I Support ClubWRX
    2.1L stroker.

EJ205 block bored to 50 thou over
    Forged pistons
    Forged connecting rods/STi Rods
    Nitrided STi crankshaft
    ARP Head studs
    GSC Stage 1 cams

This motor is an ideal street motor. Plenty of torque and power in the mid range, but still packs a wallop at higher RPMs. Good for about 450whp.

I was saving for a ej25 and more parts for an sti conversion but realistically speaking it would take me a while to save up that much.
    STi conversion? On the motor? That's inane. The EJ257 is arguably just as worthless as the EJ205 and EJ255. The drivetrain is clearly superior, but an STi motor swap wouldn't be an improvement.