Explain all this techno stuff to me....
+ Reply to Thread

This is a discussion on Explain all this techno stuff to me.... within the Engine Modifications forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; OK total newbie here. Not to cars, just to all this techno stuff. Just a quick resume of my automotive ...

Explain all this techno stuff to me....

OK total newbie here. Not to cars, just to all this techno stuff.

Just a quick resume of my automotive experience. I have 30 years of experience in working on cars. My first car was my 68 Pontiac Firebird and I still have it today. I have built and installed several motors for the car. I've totally rebuilt the car from the ground up myself. Other than paint and rebuilding the transmission, I've done ALL the wrenching.

I just bought my first WRX. It's an 02 wagon that I bought from the original owner and it only has 57,000 original miles. It's bone stock and unmodified. It's also my daily driver so I don't need to run 10's in the 1/4 mile but if there is a quick easy way to make this car drive and handle better, the hot rodder in me is all for it.

BUT, when I tune my cars, I use a timing light, and a vacuum gauge. I can tune a carb (that's a carburetor for you computer guys...ha ha)like nobody's business. But obviously a WRX doesn't have a carb.

So can someone explain all this techno mumbo-jumbo to me?

What is a Stage 1, furthermore...what is a Stage 2? What the Hell is a Cobb Accessport?? HA HA I'm assuming that this stuff all refers to a custom tune by an outside computer? Or something like that.

Anyone want to enlighten an old school kind of guy??? Don't be afraid to talk to me like I'm a child.
    Greg
    2002 WRX wagon bone stock 57,000 original miles
    68 Firebird 428, 4 speed, 12 bolt rear w 3:73 gears
    29 Ford Pickup 350, Tremec 5 speed, 9" rear 3:89 gears

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

Sammich Makin' Pwincess wrxtreme06's Avatar
    I Support ClubWRX