STI Swap, btw I'm a newb.
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

This is a discussion on STI Swap, btw I'm a newb. within the Engine Modifications forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; I'm new to the whole vehicle repair but I'm willing to learn. I have four guys I know that are ...

Exclamation STI Conversion. Motor, fueling, etc.

I'm new to the whole vehicle repair but I'm willing to learn. I have four guys I know that are car enthusiasts but they don't have much expierence with imports. We just discovered yesterday that the 02 WRX I bought is a lemon. There's a misfiring piston that's chipping away at whatever it's hitting causing copper shavings from the motor to show up in the oil when I change it. I put in thicker oil along with engine restore yesterday and it sort of silenced the piston tapping.

Long story short, I'm not looking for a fix so I'm going to go all out and do an STI swap and I've got a bunch of questions.

As far as the motor goes, is there a big difference between the JDM/Shortblock/Longblock/Complete motor?

What would be done as far as fueling and the ecu?

At the moment I have a SPT Short air intake, depending on the motor I go with will depend on if it's compatable with it correct?

Thanks in advance!
    Last edited by veg4; 06-24-2013 at 07:59 AM.

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

Registered User wreckingball man's Avatar
    You can buy complete motor swaps. Get on the phone with some of the companies and they'll be able to give you prices and all the info you need. I'd give you some links but im on my phone. And I would also talk to some tuners about what motor setup would be best suited for your goals.

Shortblock-bottom end of motor w/ out the heads
    Longblock-including heads
    Last edited by wreckingball man; 06-24-2013 at 10:08 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by wreckingball man View Post