I dont know what engine will work!
+ Reply to Thread

This is a discussion on I dont know what engine will work! within the Engine Modifications forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; I recently purchased a 2002 WRX Wagon without an engine or transmission. I am looking to purchase both and make ...

I dont know what engine will work!

I recently purchased a 2002 WRX Wagon without an engine or transmission.

I am looking to purchase both and make a fun little car!

I see a lot of engines for sale on the electronic bay dot com - EJ20 2.0 DOHC Turbo - but they arent necesarily for my year. I need to know which engines will work with my car and wire harness. I dont mind doing some work. If i got an engine from a 1996 WRX would i be able to make it work without much issue?

There is also an engine or two that i have seen that say 1999-2005 but i dont think that is a year range when where the engines were the same..

what do you guys think? I am new to the WRX world. This is my first one

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

I Support ClubWRX
    Are you wanting to put the stock engine back in or do a full engine swap?

Also are you in the US?
    GTA:O ClubWRX Crew

My "Build" Thread!

2006 WRX TR
    Hawk-Eye Alliance #1856...ssshhh don't tell anyone!

I dont mind doing some work but im looking at my most affordable option and i think that would be the stock engine. I think that would be the easiest option as well?

I am in the US

I Support ClubWRX
    Yeah putting a stock engine/trans will be the easiest option by far. Does the car already have the stock wiring harness/ecu?

If so you can look for an EJ205 these can come from any 2002-2005 WRX. I would recommend trying to find a BA trans to match. The AA trans is said to be a little weaker.

My "Build" Thread!

2006 WRX TR

So years other than that wont work? Would i have to change out the ECU and wiring harness?

I Support ClubWRX