10mm oil pump to 11mm?

This is a discussion on 10mm oil pump to 11mm? within the Engine Modifications forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; hello i have a 02 wrx with a cobb flash putting out 250hp (stage 1 i think) with other suspension ...

10mm oil pump to 11mm?

hello i have a 02 wrx with a cobb flash putting out 250hp (stage 1 i think) with other suspension mods and has 110K miles. I was told by a fellow subaru owner that my year was when they had problems with the 10mm oil pump not flowing enough oil to the engine and if i wanted to keep the engine that i should upgrade to a 11mm is this true? I like to drive the car the way it was designed fast and i want to track the car from time to time. i know it can only help but is it necessary or is the stock one fine? im new to subarus and trying to lean all i can. i know the tranny is fragile but i never heard about the oil pump till the other day. the pump is realitivly cheap but is it easy to install? should i wait till my next oil change since i just one? thanks for the help and im glad to finally be apart of the scooby doobie doo family

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

I Support ClubWRX
    Never heard of that. All 2.0L engines used the 10mm pump. The stock one is fine. The timing belt has to come off to change the oil pump.
    Resident Adviser @ WTF Tuning, LLC
    2002 FORESTER S
    1998 FORESTER S

Don't listen to your friend anymore.
    Life is like riding a bicycle in order to keep your balance you must keep moving.

I Support ClubWRX I Support ClubWRX
    If you're thinking about taking an 02 on the track you need to be concerned with the oil pan and baffle, not the pump. My recommendation would be to switch to the ej257 oil pan and baffle (or Killer B baffle), and install a Killer B ultimate oil pickup. This will greatly help prevent oil starvation while cornering.