Turbo Timer not needed i'm told
+ Reply to Thread

This is a discussion on Turbo Timer not needed i'm told within the Engine Modifications forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; So let me give you a small amount of of my background so that you can understand where I'm coming ...

Turbo Timer not needed i'm told

So let me give you a small amount of of my background so that you can understand where I'm coming from. I'm a nuclear mechanic, and belong to one of the best mechanical departments in a Commercial nuclear power plant in the united states (or at least this is what the NRC and INPO are saying). And this is because we have been and continue to be extensively trained on plant systems and how how each one interfaces with others.

This being said, Ive had multiple discussions on the phenomenon of "Natural Circulation". (as this is my basic understanding of the state of the reactor system during emergency shutdown, with loss of offsite power). This phenomenon states that if a fluid is moving at a certain rate with a heat source near the lowest portion of the vessel, and a heat sink near the top portion of the vessel then the once the main mover of said fluid is stopped, the fluid will continue to move, although at a lower rate.

This is most readily visualized if you have seen a "lava lamp" and have a basic understand of the setup and the way it works.

but I fail to see how this will work well enough in a water cooled turbo such as the one in the 201- to not need a turbo timer.

I have not yet read through the "shut down procedure" for the 201- WRX's but I assume it has you idle for a few moments prior to shutting down the car to allow some "cooler coolant" to flush through the system. which is of course a relative term because this "cooler coolant" will only have a delta T (differential temperature) of maybe 10 degrees?

Am I WAY off base with my understanding of the "controversy"?

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net