Open source more dangerous than Cobb protune?

This is a discussion on Open source more dangerous than Cobb protune? within the Engine Modifications forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; I know I'm going to be modding my car very soon and would like to not have to buy the ...

Open source more dangerous than Cobb protune?

I know I'm going to be modding my car very soon and would like to not have to buy the acessport just to tune.. I'm just gunna do downpipe exhaust and intake. Is open source tuning by, say church, more dangerous than a Cobb AP protune?ANY thoughts on the matter would be appreciated cause I'm new to subies

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

Is a fork dangerous?

If you know what your doing, I guess it would be less dangerous than say someone who has never tuned before?

I'd stick to cobb unless you know exactly what your doing.
    2012 Limited Black Pearl WRX
    My Build to Destruction
    52 Week Project

I wouldn't tune it myself- I'd go to an open source tuner

Both are tuning tools, what will make the biggest difference is the tuner and the maintenance of the vehicle.

Contact a reputable tuner you would like to deal with and ask them what method they prefer. I much rather let the professional pick the tool they are more comfortable with.

I Support ClubWRX
    Resident Adviser @ WTF Tuning, LLC
    2002 FORESTER S
    1998 FORESTER S

Look in the Tuning section....mucho info... Tuning: Electronic Engine Management

OS tuning is not in it's infancy for Subaru's. There is a HUGE amount of general How To info on the few main forums, whether they be overall Suby or model specific sites.

I'd say start here Cobb AP vs OpenECU (Tactrix/Romraider/ECUFlash)

or maybe here... OPENSOURCE TUNING: Your questions answered here!!! RomRaider + Tactrix