Engine advice needed

This is a discussion on Engine advice needed within the Engine Modifications forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; Hey guys i'm new to the subaru world and need some advice on which is the best route to go. ...

Engine advice needed

Hey guys i'm new to the subaru world and need some advice on which is the best route to go. I have a 03 WRX that needs a motor rebuild. I have been searching different forums for info and have come up with a few options but need to make a decision on which would be the best route to go. Whichever route I take, I will go with forged internals to handle my power goals down the road.

Option #1 rebuild 2.0 with good rods/pistons arp head studs etc.
    Option #2 2.2 closed deck shortblock with forged internals, still not 100% positive what all I would have to modify to make this work in my car
    Option #3 2.5 hybrid with forged internals and 2.0 heads, if I go this route I know I want a closed deck block but not sure which cars are the ones to look for a donor block from
    Option #4 go with a 2.5 STI engine and upgrade the pistons.

Out of the options listed what would be the most reliable and cost effective route to go? The reason the 2.2 is listed is I found a 2.2 turbo motor here locally that already has forged internals but has a spun rod bearing for $900 that is a little cheaper than buying the 2.0 forged rods/pistons and I would be doing the same machine work to that motor as I would to the stock 2.0. Any info is greatly appreciated.

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

zax
    I Support ClubWRX I Support ClubWRX
    I'd go with option #5 rebuild the 2L case with STi crank, rods, and forged pistons; case bored 50 thousandths over i.e. 2.1L stroker

But it's really up to you

Quote Originally Posted by scubynewby View Post
    Option #1 rebuild 2.0 with good rods/pistons arp head studs etc..