Possible Boost Leak? or is it in my mind?

This is a discussion on Possible Boost Leak? or is it in my mind? within the Engine Modifications forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; I am new to turbo cars so I don't really know what to expect but I have been reading loads ...

Possible Boost Leak? or is it in my mind?

I am new to turbo cars so I don't really know what to expect but I have been reading loads on forums. I have a 2012 WRX with ~9k miles. It is stock except for an AccessPORT Stage 1 OTS map tune. The map says "Boost Targets: ~16.5psi peak boost pressure tapering down to ~13.5psi by the 7000 RPM redline, +/- 0.8psi."

I did some data logging and I'm not sure what the taper is supposed to look like but after mine spikes to 16.3 I always get a drop to 14.xx and then boost builds back up to 15.xx. Is this normal behavior? It is the drop that concerns me. I feel like there may be a small boost leak somewhere. I searched to see if I could find an answer to this or even boost graph I could look at for a stage 1 WRX but no luck.

Here is a graph of my Boost (psi) vs. RPM from the data log I did with the AP. Time intervals are at 0.3 seconds. I did this pull in 4th gear.

Am I just being paranoid or is there really a problem here? I called up Subaru and the service center said that the car would throw a CEL if there was a leak. I was hoping they could just pressurize the intake and see if it is holding pressure, but they want to drive the car around to run some kind of "test". I'd rather not bring my car in to have some mechanic joy riding in it.

Thanks for any help you can provide.
    2012 Limited World Rally Blue Pearl Subaru Impreza World Rally Xross Sedan ...
    ...On order since 4/14/2012; Received VIN 7/4/2012; ETA 8/6/2012; Delivered 8/9/2012
    OTS AP Stage 1 9/15/2012

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

I Support ClubWRX
    Start your log earlier. Start in 3rd @ 2K RPMs