After lots of reading, have some TBE questions

This is a discussion on After lots of reading, have some TBE questions within the Engine Modifications forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; I've got the itch to get a little more power out of my 2011 WRX sedan and have been reading ...

After lots of reading, have some TBE questions

I've got the itch to get a little more power out of my 2011 WRX sedan and have been reading a lot about what it takes to go stage 2. At this point, need advice on what route to go (I am a noob, have had my subie since Dec '12 but just getting into mods), if I'm missing anything and wtf some of the acronyms you guys throw around are lol.

1st off: Currently have added a K&N CAI - no tune, have read it's unnecessary (but obviously a... Stage 1? tune would help a bit)

This is also where I need acronym help

Correct me if I'm wrong here, just want to 2x check.
    turbo-back: Includes, DP, Mid-pipe, and whatever is behind it (what is this section called?)
    CBE: Everything after the DP back?
    Axle-back: Everything after the mid-pipe back?

Looking to go for a stage 2 with the COBB DP, but not set on the CBE portion. From everything I've been reading, the mid-pipe looks like it doesn't NEED replacement (does a mid usually come in a CBE kit?) and have seen a lot of people really happy with Nameless' axle-back set. Looking for a little more power obviously, but want about stock sound when cruising, which is what I've heard the nameless gives.

Also, if there happens to be a member living in the PHX area with the COBB DP + Nameless Axleback, would love to meet up and have a listen!

End state, I'd like to have a faster WRX that has a bit more of a growl when given gas but is still safe. Advice on tuning (Cobb AP vs protune) would be appreciated as well.

Regards,

Corey

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

I Support ClubWRX
    Welcome

Quote Originally Posted by azsun