Exhaust system

This is a discussion on Exhaust system within the Engine Modifications forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; Hello, I am a noob to the Subaru world and I have a few questions. I want to replace my ...

Exhaust system

Hello, I am a noob to the Subaru world and I have a few questions. I want to replace my exhaust system but Im having trouble deciding what to do. I want to replace my whole system. The invida q300 looks awesome but do I need to replace the stock cat with a high flow cat? Does the Q300 come with a downpipe? Can I tune with a Cobb access port using this exhaust? recommendations for other exhaust systems? I have a stock 2011 WRX limited. I appreciate any information you can give me!!

thanks
    2011 WRX Limited - Stage1-AEM CAI

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

I Support ClubWRX I Support ClubWRX
    A turboback exhaust is the whole exhaust, from the turbo back (including the downpipe) . Therefore it replaces the catalytic converters. A catback exhaust only replaces the exhaust from the catalytic converter back, so it does not replace your stock catalytic converters.

Newer model WRXs occasionally have problems with boost creep when running catless exhaust, so you should be looking for a catted turboback exhaust. (Not to mention the Cobb maps are designed to work with catted exhaust only)

Awesome! I was considering doing a turbo back. It looks like that may be the direction I go. what are some good turbo back systems that you know of? How do you feel about blow off valves with a turbo back?
    I also don't want something that will be extremely loud
    Last edited by Bierman; 01-24-2013 at 12:49 PM.

I Support ClubWRX I Support ClubWRX
    Blow off valves are pointless noise makers, regardless of the exhaust.