up pipe wars
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

This is a discussion on up pipe wars within the Engine Modifications forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; anyone have a good/bad/ ugly story to tell about the megan racing up pipe?...

up pipe wars

anyone have a good/bad/ ugly story to tell about the megan racing up pipe?

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

What's your reason for posting this thread?
    Scott
    Past Subies - '11 STI Limited stage 1+ and '04 STi stage 2+
    '13 Wrangler Rubicon - custom front bumper w/12k lb winch & off-road lights, skid plates, diff guards, etc.
    '04 Porsche 911 Turbo GT2 clone 600 HP/TQ
    '77 F-150 heavily modded for off-roading

I Support ClubWRX I Support ClubWRX
    I have no personal experience, but I have heard of fitment issues and cracking at the flex pipe. I would rather (and did) gut the stock uppipe before putting junk on pre turbo.

Sorry for the quick post and lack of info. Ran short on time. I was wondering why so cheap, all over they're under a Ben Franklin and don't look bad( looks+internet=mislead consumers) so as I am shopping for a budget friendly up pipe it just showed up at sixty plus dollars. I'd rather run a quality solid pipe since I'm not going big on mods. The catted piece is solid I'm good with a solid pipe back in. But even still, the Megan is half the price of a decent solid like turbo xs or invidia. With flex pipe blowout pics everywhere I thought I'd grab a opinion before I grabbed parts and wound up with a headache plus hours of useless reassembly.

I Support ClubWRX

up pipe wars

Just my view: it is not the flex section that worries people, it's the internal presence of a cat con. Also, most stock up pipes are fine; therefore it is the working unaffected stock pipes that are everywhere rather than the failed stock pipes.