Intercooler questions
+ Reply to Thread

This is a discussion on Intercooler questions within the Engine Modifications forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; Wat r the benefits to doing a front mount Intercooler vs. top side intercooler. How hard is it to change ...

Intercooler questions

Wat r the benefits to doing a front mount Intercooler vs. top side intercooler. How hard is it to change over from a top mount to a front mount system. Prices and advice would be helpful. I am really new to the STI world so any help i could get would be greatly appreciated. I own a 2004 STI.

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

Intercooler questions

Search. The answers are out there, young one.
    Hawkeye Alliance #1050
    Build Thread
    http://i1108.photobucket.com/albums/...ps665d9b9d.jpg
    Always dirty, never scurred......

I Support ClubWRX I Support ClubWRX
    I've written this out before... I'm gonna search real quick.

Front mount is suited better for large turbos and drag racing, top mount is suited better for small/medium turbos and daily driving.

Pros of FMIC, larger core, increased cooling capacity, less prone to heat soak due to location. Cons of FMIC, increased piping reduces engine response, requires cutting your bumper to install, compromises front end rigidity, slightest front end collision results in several thousand dollars worth of damage.

Pros of TMIC, snappier throttle response, factory mounting location so little to no fabrication required for install, does not require removal of front bumper beam. Cons of TMIC, cooling capacity not suited to large turbos (30r, 35r, etc), prone to heatsoak while sitting still.