Header/UpPipe question!!

This is a discussion on Header/UpPipe question!! within the Engine Modifications forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; Ok. So I have a used un-equal header/uppipe combo and I am wanting to know if I should install this ...

Header/UpPipe question!!

Ok. So I have a used un-equal header/uppipe combo and I am wanting to know if I should install this or sell and just go with a new up pipe... What are the pros to having a header over the stock manifold? I am new to this world and appreciate any info I can get! Thanks so much!
    Seth-

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

I Support ClubWRX
    Depending on the header, you can net some gains with proper tuning, but if you're just going to be running a base map (e.g., Cobb), the only thing you gain by it are a potential leak and less space in your garage when you store your OE manifolds.
    2005 WRX STi (Mods | Virtual Dyno)

Resident Tuner @ WTF Tuning, LLC

"Never trust anything that bleeds for a week and lives ..."

UNYSOC

zax
    I Support ClubWRX I Support ClubWRX
    You can install the UP without tuning for the car. The Header will require a tune. What brand did you purchase? This ultimately comes down to the primary size, and if the primaries are suited to the turbo installed on your car. For example, larger primaries will hurt the spool of your turbo the case of the stock turbo, hurt power output.
    2015 CWP WRX STi ... But how did I get roped back into an EJ motor?!
    Zax's utterly unimaginably stock 2015 STi build thread
    Zax's Shaggin' Wagon Build Thread Now tuned for 99% pure Unicorn Jizz!

Zach | Moderator -- Mid-Atlantic States, Tech & Modifying & General Repairs
    Rollin' with the Bugeye Mafia #302 | N.E.R.D. Subject Zero
    Facebook me here

Your Mid-A local board: http://www.clubwrx.net/forums/mid-atlantic-states/

Quote Originally Posted by EJ257 View Post