Subaru WRX Forum banner

Goal : 300whp and keep it safe for daily driving!

28K views 36 replies 21 participants last post by  matsayz 
#1 ·
I'm looking to add a few simple mods to increase my 2012 wrx to about 300~, but I also use this car as my daily driver so i dont want too many mods to stress it too much. I dont know if mods decrease the life of the car or anything, like i said im pretty new to this, any help would be greatly appreciated so if you leave a link that I have to read even that would help me.

#2 ·
Downpipe (or full turboback exhaust) + retune = Stage 2. Do that first, decide if you need more and go from there. Maybe add an intake in the mix if you want to spend the money.

#5 ·
On the 09 n later cars a good stageII protune will put you close to the 300whp mark and a little more torque. I suggest upgrading the fuel pump.. but otherwise everything else the factory put there minus the dp and tune.. will get you to 300whp as long as your tuner knows what he's doing.

#6 ·
Why do you suggest upgrading the fuel pump?

I think getting 300 whp from just an exhaust and tune is pretty optimistic. You're more likely to get in the 260-270 range.

#8 ·
You'd be surprised, Scott. There are a number of 2011-2012 WRXs kissing 300whp on stock injectors and turboback exhaust on reputable dynos. I was skeptical at first as well.

#7 ·
Because you can never have enough fuel on demand.

300wtq is definitely attainable and in all honesty that's more important on the street than hp is. Even though 300whp is reachable on a VF48/52

go play with your porsche and leave the little people alone.

#9 ·
Because you can never have enough fuel on demand.

300wtq is definitely attainable and in all honesty that's more important on the street than hp is. Even though 300whp is reachable on a VF48/52
Don't you max out the stock injectors before the fuel pump?