New Head Unit? New Speakers? Both?
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

This is a discussion on New Head Unit? New Speakers? Both? within the Electronics/Car Audio forums, part of the Interior Mods category; Hey guys, how's everyone doing. I'm a newbie who has a question that looks like you guys have argued over ...

New Head Unit? New Speakers? Both?

Hey guys, how's everyone doing. I'm a newbie who has a question that looks like you guys have argued over already and I missed the conclusion, so I will ask it again and I hope I don't aggravate anyone! I just picked up my '04 WRX, and it was equipped with the upgraded stereo w/subwoofer. My question is, What is the best route to take if I want to step up a notch in audio quality? There's really three options as I see it...

1.) Replace the factory head unit with an aftermarket model and keep the factory speakers.

2.) Replace the factory speakers and keep the factory head unit.

3.) Or just rip it all out and start from scratch.

I'm just looking for some opinions on how to bring the quality up a notch, it seems like the factory stereo system dies off real quick after volume level "10"... ? Thanks for all the help guys, clubwrx.net is addicting!

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

tan
    How much money are you willing to spend?

Just go all out like I did and get new head unit, speakers, and a sub-woofer or two (along with amps).
    - F r a n z
    Bucky with teh lime powah!

I Support ClubWRX
    If you get a new headunit, you're gonna realize that the stock speakers are garbage. If you get new speakers you're gonna realize the stock hu is garbage. Might as well get both in one shot and be done with it....
    '03 WRX
    '01 2.5RS
    MODS | PICS | Dyno
    "Stuff sold by the gram is always going to be more exciting than stuff sold by the pound." - Jeremy Clarkson