Upgrading audio and looking for guidance
+ Reply to Thread

This is a discussion on Upgrading audio and looking for guidance within the Electronics/Car Audio forums, part of the Interior Mods category; I am trying to do some looking around and reviews on Pioneer and Alpine systems, speakers to start. My plan ...

Blah blah blah something about penguins CowboyD Eng6ine's Avatar

Upgrading audio and looking for guidance

I am trying to do some looking around and reviews on Pioneer and Alpine systems, speakers to start. My plan leading into the summer is to improve the sound system of the car. I am looking for something that will still sound crisp driving down the highway with the windows down. I have never done anything with car audio before and was turning to here for some guidence on that to do, as well as what not to do. What items are recommended to use and in what order should they be brought in? I was hoping to be able to get away with doing speakers/tweeters first then a head unit followed by an amp. Im not sure which specific speaker model is good to use and how much of a difference would a good speaker change before adding anything else.

If you guys could put in some input and advise to guide me in the best direction, that would be great. There is an audio shop near by I want to stop in to see how some of the setups they have sound, but I want to learn a bit more first so I know what I am looking for.
    Crazy is running towards what people are running from.

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

It is my understanding the HU is the weak point in the system. Just changing it usually satisfies most. Problem with speakers first is the stock HU is still pumping out a muddy tin can rattle mess. So you end up hearing more of the HU problems than anything else.