Subaru WRX Forum banner

2011 WRX Head Unit

16K views 28 replies 11 participants last post by  zacshot13 
#1 ·
I am a noob when it comes to swapping head units, however I have gathered information from this site as well as Crutchfield.

I have a 2011 with the standard HU and I am looking to upgrade to a GPS, touch screen unit. I have discovered that I can use either single or double din. My objective is great functionality as well as nice fit and finish without breaking the bank. I would also really like to maintain factory blue tooth buttons if only so that the buttons on the wheels aren't both ugly and useless.

Single DIN would give me a flip out touch screen, so for anti-theft purposes might be less appealing to thieves...i guess? However I am not sure how it would look in the dash. I am nervous it will look out of place.

The double DIN HU look as though they will look more like a stock unit and I won't have to worry the flip out screen. However they are usually more expensive, and from what I have read you can get a single DIN flip out for half the cost of a double DIN, and the single's are usually reviewed better.

ANY input is welcome. I apologize if this has been discussed ad nauseam and I just haven't found it.

Thanks in advance!

See less See more
#2 ·
I would personally be hesitant about the single DIN units. I just feel they are prone to breaking. That is my own personal opinion, and due to it I haven't bought one, so I wouldn't know first hand.

I've heard nothing but great reviews about any double din pioneer unit. They normally have a nice gradient of them from bank busting to not so bad. Generally good quality as well.

As far as head units go, I wouldn't cheap out on them. You will use a head unit on every drive probably, so it can either be a pleasure or a curse in my experience. Also, its normally your best upgrade for a sound system.

#4 ·