Radio Headunit removal

This is a discussion on Radio Headunit removal within the Electronics/Car Audio forums, part of the Interior Mods category; Does anyone have a "how to" or a link to the removal procedure for the 2011 WRX factory head unit? ...

Radio Headunit removal

Does anyone have a "how to" or a link to the removal procedure for the 2011 WRX factory head unit?

Installing some gauges and I've never done it this way before. Tapped into the fuse box for my old 08 even though that wasn't ideal. Wanting to wire this one proper.

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

check out this youtube vid

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Nn2-NL7qNxI

there are two ways to do this. you can do it how he did it in the video, and its a lot more work. you could also do it with a rubber tipped pry took and remove the gray bezel around the head unit and go at it that way, but i have had issues in other cars that i have owned with breaking the clips that hold the bezel in.

good luck.
    Stink-eye Mob #814004
    2010 WRX Limited Hatch - spt short throw...for now

that the same on the 2011 wrx? Thats not hard at all my honda was a lot harder than that!

http://s60.photobucket.com/albums/h1...t=PICT0001.mp4

Thats a short vid I made to help out another owner. my11 should be exactly same as my08-10

just make sure that the prying tool you use is DULL and really thin. The panel may fight you a little because its never been off.. but once it does it'll be easy every other time you try it.
    Last edited by mangostick; 11-04-2010 at 07:48 PM.
    OBP 2010 5dr *traded*
    SWP 2013 FRS
    My name is Shawn, I'm a Devout Practicalist and I'm addicted to flat4's
    This page has had 1,666 visits
    SUCH IS MANGO!

thanks what size is ur screen?

dont remember, its a avic F700BT .. I want to say the screen is either 6" or 6.5" .. but I could be wrong. At the time I bought it.. any touch screen was hot stuff lol.. so the size really didn't matter.