New HU, sub, amp install question
+ Reply to Thread

This is a discussion on New HU, sub, amp install question within the Electronics/Car Audio forums, part of the Interior Mods category; Hey, I am installing a Pioneer FH-8000bt head unit, a Rockford Fosgate amp and a JL 12 inch sub in ...

New HU, sub, amp install question

Hey,
    I am installing a Pioneer FH-8000bt head unit, a Rockford Fosgate amp and a JL 12 inch sub in a 2004 wrx wagon. My question is about the amplifier wiring kit. I see rockford sells the RFK8 and RFK8i, the only difference being the RFK8i has an interconnect. Basically, what is an interconnect and do I need one? Thanks!

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

i am not a professional but from what i can tell from rockfords website what you are calling an interconnect is the 20ft rca cable. that is the only difference i see in the kits on there site.
    if thats what you are talking about then yes you do need it. the cable sends the audio signal from your headunit to the amp it is necassary. if you want one of these kits i would go with the RFK8i. hope it helps you and if i am wrong about this then sorry but i compared the kits on there site.
    Last edited by irvin787878; 12-15-2009 at 03:18 PM.
    HAWK-EYE ALLIANCE #7878
    2007 WRX TR
    My work in progress. http://www.clubwrx.net/forums/off-to...ld-thread.html

Hey bro thanks alot for the help!

+1 on the difference being the rca cable and it being necessary

are you swapping your speakers out too?
    i've got the same h.u. in my 03 and just that with decent speakers made a world of difference,
    i didnt realise how gross the stockers were until i took them out... and then i really realised how much they sucked once i got better speakers in and heard the difference.

-Alex