What size sub would you get?
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

This is a discussion on What size sub would you get? within the Electronics/Car Audio forums, part of the Interior Mods category; I've been moving a 15" Kicker Solo-Baric from car to car for a few years. I got it when I ...

I Support ClubWRX

What size sub would you get?

I've been moving a 15" Kicker Solo-Baric from car to car for a few years. I got it when I was younger...when losing my hearing was more important than sound quality. I'm gonna get rid of it in favor of a smaller single sub. I've got an old Kenwood Excelon amp that's rated at something like 400 watts for power. Would you go to a 12" or 10"?

I have aftermarket interior speakers (factory sized) and they're amped, but the problem with the 15" sub was always losing the frequency range between the low end of the interior speakers and the sub.

I assume I'll shorten the gap the most by getting a 10" but what are your opinions? I obviously would lose more of the really low end, but I'm just lookin for some advice if you were in the same position.

And for a cheap advertisement, I've got a 15" kicker solo-baric and box for sale if anyone's inerested

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

I Support ClubWRX
    What kind of music do you listen to? I don't really benefit much from my genre (country) of having a larger sub (I think a 10" would be more than enough). Rap/pop/dance would want a 12", while I think rock you could get away with a 10", but a 12" wouldn't hurt.

Just my opinion
    2005 WRX STi (Mods | Virtual Dyno)

Resident Tuner @ WTF Tuning

"Never trust anything that bleeds for a week and lives ..."

UNYSOC

I have a 12" alpine type x in my car running 600-800rms and 1800 peak.
    Its more than enough to fill the entire car with bone shaking bass. Since you don't seem to be looking for something of this magnitude, I would look for something with less magnet, not surface area.