2015 STI first exterior detail!
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

This is a discussion on 2015 STI first exterior detail! within the Detailing Forum forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; ***UPDATED PICTURES ON POST 12*** I picked the car up mid March and decided to order about 0 worth of ...

Home of the blues, the Blues, and the real life blues.

2015 STI first exterior detail!

***UPDATED PICTURES ON POST 12***

I picked the car up mid March and decided to order about $200 worth of Chemical Guys products. I want to really prolong the longevity of this paint, since I actually want to keep this car for 5-6 years, as opposed to my every other year car purchase. I've been sticking to basic spray washes until now, since the opportunity to get this done hadn't yet presented itself. This is my first attempt at anything other than a basic wash/clay/NXT liquid wax. Everything was done by hand.
    (Day 1)
    Step 1: Full wheel/tire clean with CG premium wheel cleaner, CG degreaser, and CG citrus wash. The raccoon brush is worth every penny.
    Step 2: Full wash with CG micro fiber sponge and CG Citrus wash
    Step 3: Full clay of all exterior smooth surfaces CG Fine grade clay bar and lubricant
    Step 4: Full CG Jet Seal treatment all smooth surfaces including windows. Lightly spread on face surfaces of the wheel. Let cure over night.
    (Day 2)
    Step 5: Full CG butter wax of all smooth/painted surfaces except wheels and windows.
    Step 6: Finishing touches:
    CG premium trim dressing for plastic bits around the mirrors, windows, rear diffuser, wiper area, and fog bezels. I didn't get the front grills.
    Saturates the tires in Aerospace 303 protectant

Other tools: Hard bristle tire brush, raccoon wheel brush, soft touch wheel brush, micro fiber applicator pad for sealant, multiple CG soft sponge applicator pads, about 20 micro fiber towels.

Total time approximately 10 hours.