Debadge Removed Clearcoat plz help.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

This is a discussion on Debadge Removed Clearcoat plz help. within the Detailing Forum forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; So last year i removed the Sym-AWD badge and it was easy peasy with rubbing alcohol, a dryer and a ...

Debadge Removed Clearcoat plz help.

So last year i removed the Sym-AWD badge and it was easy peasy with rubbing alcohol, a dryer and a sham... this time a year later not so much... I had no goo gone, and I used a "Car sponge" like the idiot I am.. I scratched off the clear coat by how hard i was rubbing.. on the IMPREZA I have a bit of ghosting which i think i can polish out... but plz help with the huge scratch.. I am a detailing/paint noob.. here are some pics.. oh and I already tried that Turtlewax Polish/scratch remover paste.. didnt work.

Attachment 115315
    Attachment 115316

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

oh and PS. I got off all the residue... that bad ghost lettering is actually clear coat that was saved from the sponge under the goop i couldnt get off....

Sorry to be the bearer of bad news but that is going to be hard to fix if at all. I used the same paste when I did mine with the same results. I brought the car to a body shop and they said it was through the clear. End result......I rebadged. That turtle wax paste is terrible and even if you take it easy this is bound to happen

If you have a friend that is good with a high speed buffer (a good dealt buffer or the like) see if they can take care of that with some detailing compound. If not then looks like the car will need paint.
    2011 5-Dr SWP WRX Limited
    1999 Titanium Silver BMW M3 - SOLD