Detailing 101 chosing your products and buffing how to
+ Reply to Thread

This is a discussion on Detailing 101 chosing your products and buffing how to within the Detailing Forum forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; Ok, I was asked if I would contribute to the community by putting in some tips and tricks and just ...

Detailing 101 chosing your products and buffing how to

Ok, I was asked if I would contribute to the community by putting in some tips and tricks and just overall what detaling is about. Of course I am happy to try to help people out with what I know.

While I am not a professional... one whom considers himself so is many times one who refuses to accept or even attempt other methods of doing things. In detail work, there are few hard and fast rules... other things are simply how you choose to do them.

Firstly, I have written the other sticky about washing, drying, how to do things my way, and that way does seem to work well for me, but others do things differently. This section will be more about the overall way to detail based on the way I have learned it. There are MANY great detailers out there however that could completely teach me all over again though.

So what are those rules? The basic rules that I have seen include some of the following.. you will make more or your own as you go along.

Price means NOTHING! Some of the most expensive products out there don't work any better than your off the shelf autozone or walmart product.
    Paint will burn! Actually the paint burning thing comes from using rotary polishers which are for more advanced detailers... and some don't like them at all such as myself. Many times it's not the paint getting so hot it "burns" it's more that it's been cut through by the polish.
    WAXES will go over sealants, sealants will NOT go over waxes.