STI Detailing

This is a discussion on STI Detailing within the Detailing Forum forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; Hi I have never done this before, so I wanted to throw out what I think is the right path... ...

Supporting Member mjboudreaux77's Avatar
    I Support ClubWRX

STI Detailing

Hi
    I have never done this before, so I wanted to throw out what I think is the right path... I have the Plasma Blue '11 STI.

I have a few paint chips that I can see metal in now. Less than 12 spots, and they are all small. I also have swirl marks. I also have door dents. I also have fine scratches that you can't see metal.

My plan:

1.) Buy Subaru touch up paint and apply
    2.) Polish entire car
    3.) Wax entire car
    4.) Get paintless dent repair on the dings that can be fixed that way

Am I going in the right order? Also, I don't know the difference between polish and wax - I am still trying to learn. Are there brands people trust more than others?

Thanks
    Michael
    If I don't die by Thursday, I'll be roarin Friday night - Jimmy Buffett

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

You should clay bar your car after a good wash. Polishing adds that really shiny gloss to your car and helps with those swirl marks and scratches.

Over the weekend I detailed my car during a good sunny day. I first washed my car with the two bucket system and a mitt. Then, I let the car dry and cleaned up the wheels and the inside of the fenders. Dried again and went over the car with the claybar. After all that, I went over the car with polish/detailer and a clean microfiber cloth. Finally, I chose synthetic wax with a new microfiber cloth to finish up the car. The wax adds a layer of protection to your car and a good shine.

Personally, I'd use the touch up paint on a different day than washing/detailing.
    2011 SWP WRX Hatch

read my sticky

How have you gotten so much damage to the car if it's only a 2011?